Hello world!

Good afternoon all!  I am just working on getting my blog up and running, so bear with me and my caveman ways until I get the hang of this 🙂

I tried something new this morning for breakfast (my usual is some combination of oatmeal)… Nature’s Path Organic Flax Plus Multibran Cereal with skim milk.  The verdict… FLAVORLESS!  It was definitely a little too bland for me, but I always say I will try anything twice (because I might not have a good experience the first time).  So, when I do try it for the second time, there will definitely be some fruit on it to add a little flavor. 

Nature's Path cereal

On the side I had a small glass of skim milk and piece of whole wheat toast with a little butter and peanut butter (Mmmm!).  There’s something about putting a little butter on toast first before the peanut butter… Don’t you agree?

Multibran cereal, PB toast & milk

Since I started my morning off with some organic cereal, I decided to do a little research on organic foods.  (Note: I am not an avid organic food eater, but I like to try new things.)  Here is what I found at FoodNews.org:

The Environmental Working Group found that people who eat their 5 veggies and fruits a day from the following “Dirty Dozen” list consume about 10 pesticides a day.  On the other hand those who eat the same amount, but eat from the “Clean 15” list only consume about 2 pesticides a day.  And here are the lists… drum roll please!…

DIRTY DOZEN (most harmful to least harmful):

  1. Celery
  2. Peaches
  3. Strawberries
  4. Apples
  5. Blueberries
  6. Nectarines
  7. Bell Peppers
  8. Spinach
  9. Cherries
  10. Kale/Collard Greens
  11. Potatoes
  12. Grapes (Imported)

They suggest you purchase these organic to cut back on pesticides consumption.

CLEAN 15 (lowest in pesticides):

  1. Onions
  2. Avocado
  3. Sweet Corn
  4. Pineapple
  5. Mangos
  6. Sweet Peas
  7. Asparagus
  8. Kiwi
  9. Cabbage
  10. Eggplant
  11. Cantaloupe
  12. Watermelon
  13. Grapefruit
  14. Sweet Potatoes
  15. Honeydew Melon

So now you know, purchase the “Dirty Dozen” organic and stock up on the “Clean 15”.  For more information on this topic visit the FoodNews website.

~ by myFOODevents on August 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
