Surprise Date!

I took the afternoon off of work today.  My boy and I were planning on going boating, so when I showed up at his house we got the boat ready and hooked it up to the truck.  Normally we take a left out of his driveway and go to Lake Wissota, however, today we took a right out of the driveway!  Noticing this change right away I asked him where we were going and he replied with, “It’s a surprise”.   So I let him have his fun and keep me in suspense during our 40 minute drive to the “surprise” destination.  Where were we headed you ask?  To none other than the Lakes of Chetek! 

Jed & I at Gilligans

This was my first time boating in this area, but I have heard a lot about it and it definitely lived up to my expectations.   The lake is enormous (actually multiple lakes connected to each other), has gorgeous scenery, numerous bars/restaurants off the lake and many islands to stop and anchor the boat down at and relax.  After we boated around the lake for a good hour we pulled into Gilligans, which was a very happening place!  Here we were able to sit at the tiki bar, listen to live music, enjoy our pink lemonades (Leinenkugel Berry Weiss+ Leinenkugel Summer Shandy), and devour a “Treasure Chest” appetizer.  The “Treasure Chest” was ginormous and included mozzarella sticks, cheese curds, fried beans, friend broccoli and cheese balls, and garlic bread!  We barely finished it!

Gilligans

 REWIND

Okay, so I got a little excited and ahead of myself with the surprise date… I had fun, what can I say 🙂 

Before I worked out (3 mile run in 28 minutes) I had a food event, mmm plums!  Right after my workout I hopped on over to Culver’s and got a Strawberry Fields Salad.  If you have not already had one, you need to go get one now!  Before they go out of season!  So delish and so filling with all those strawberries, walnuts, grilled chicken and bleu cheese flavor-blasting the mixed greens!

Culver's Strawberry Fields Salad

After we returned from boating the boy and I had a food event with some popcorn while we watched the Real World New Orleans.  Is anyone else a fan of the Real World or any reality TV?  It’s such a ridiculous, drama filled show, but sadly I am hooked!

~ by myFOODevents on August 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
