Is Your House Making You Fat?

WORKOUT

This is a little embarrassing buuuut my pre-workout snack was a small piece of cake and milk 😦  I have this problem where if there are sweets in the house, I am waaaay more tempted to eat them… and sometimes the temptation is just too much to handle.  For my workout I did a “destination run”.  Destination = YMCA.  Distance = 3.16 miles (total trip).  The trip took me 29:26 minutes, which is pretty good considering I walked down the big hill and up a small part of it.  My pace was 9:18/mile.   I made a new PR on my run today… I made it up the big hill I have to run up/down to get to the Y the fastest I ever have today!  Normally I only make it up about a 1/4 of the way, but today I made it up 3/4 of the way!  My mantra that helped me?  “Something is better than nothing.”  Running up that hill at an 11/mile pace is better than walking up it;  getting in a 20 minute walk is better than not walking at all; one extra rep is better than stopping at 12, etc.  Something is better than nothing!  What has been your mantra lately?

Once I got to the Y I did my Fitness Magazine lift, that took 40 minutes.  Here are the supersets:

  • Bent over DB rows: 12 @ 20 lbs (x3)
  • Lat-to-front DB raises:8 @ 10 lbs, 8 @ 8 lbs (x2)
  • DB fly on ball: 10 @ 15 lbs (x3)

 

  • Lunge on BOSU: 15 ea. leg @ 12 lbs (x3)
  • Curls: 10 @ 12 lbs (x3)
  • Calf raises: 20 @ 12 lbs (x3)
  • Rear leg lift on BOSU: 20 (x3)

 

  • Long arm ball crunches: 20 x3
  • Overhead triceps extension: 12 @ 25 lbs (x3)
  • Oblique ball crunches: 12 ea. side (x3)

 

IS YOUR HOUSE MAKING YOU FAT?

This morning I was watching the Today Show and one of their features was “Is you house making you fat?”  (By the way, I cannot explain how excited I was to be able to watch daytime TV today!  I love furlough days 🙂 )  During this short segment they had a few pointers that can subconsciously help make you and your family healthier!  Here they are…

  1. Color your kitchen blue.  If that is too big of a project get blue table clothes or dishes.  They suggest this because blue is apparently an appetite suppressor. 
  2. Brighter lights in dining room = less binge eating = better.
  3. Don’t socialize in the kitchen.  Save studying, conversing, etc. for other areas of the house.  Socializing in the kitchen encourages mindless eating.
  4. Down size your dishware.  They  suggest 7-9 inch plates and smaller cup.  Quite simply, the more you have in front of you, the less you’ll feel obligated to eat.
  5. Keep workout equipment in the house.  Just by having the DB in a basket or a treadmill downstairs, you are more likely to do 10-15 minute bursts of activity while in between activities or waiting. 
  6. Get rid of “fat” clothes!

To learn more about this topic and to see the Today Show’s video clip on this topic check out this link.  Have you already done any of these things?  Which ones are you likely to try?  I usually try to use smaller dishware.  Not all of my dishware is small, but I try to pick smaller ones.  I definitely need to work on not socializing in the kitchen :-/

TGIF 🙂  I’m off to shower and bed shop!

~ by myFOODevents on August 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
