I’m Baaaaack!

I hope you all had a fantastic week and a half!  The past week for me has been an absolute whirlwind!   The move went smoothly.  I was able to get everything up to my room and situated in the apartment by the end of the day on Monday.  I had no distractions (no internet, no tv, no roommate, no boyfriend 😦  ) so I whizzed through unpacking.  I am planning on posting a mini (running) tour of the city of La Crosse since it is so beautiful!  Stay tuned for that! 

I absolutely love my new job as the Special Events Graduate Assistant!  The other three graduate assistants and my supervisors are simply amazing people and so fun to be around!  The first few days of my training was extremely overwhelming, but I think I am settled in and have enough to-do lists made that I feel more confident in what I am doing.  I have three primary responsibilities at my new job… Special events, scheduling undergraduate workers and SMILE incentive program (program recognizing student workers going above and beyond).  Here is a list of the events I will be putting on in the first couple months: 

Sand Volleyball Tourney- Sept. 18 

Rectoberfest (alcohol alternative event)- Sept. 24 

Golf Scramble- Oct. 2 

Chancellor’s Fun Run (10K or 5K)- Oct. 16 

Turkey Trot 5K- Nov. 20 

If you are interested in learning more about these events check out our webpage at www.uwlax.edu/recsports

Some of my favorite eats since I have been here are… 

Hot Yoats

Sandwich Thins

Vanilla Bean Chiller powder...

 

In my overnight oats, with raisins, yogurt and sliced almonds

 

Artichoke salsa

Veggie...

Spaghetti...

With mushroom spaghetti sauce!.... Mmmm!

 HOLY DELISH!  This is a new favorite of mine!  The tenderness of the squash, the mild flavor and the lightness of the dish has me sold! 

What was the highlight of your week?  

I am hopefully heading out to Tequilas for a margarita or two with some co-workers… I love working in the recreation field, the people are just so much fun!  Hope you all have a great night and I can’t wait to catch up on all my blog reading!

~ by myFOODevents on August 31, 2010.

4 Responses to “I’m Baaaaack!”

  1. Sounds like things are going swimmingly for you- YAY!

    How fun to be in charge of events!!

    And I love squash & Spaghetti sauce, too- especially with fall coming up 🙂

  2. My week has actually been terrible. I think the highlight of it was that I got a good parking spot today. That is so sad!

    Sounds like everything is going great over there!

    • On the bright side, if the highlight of your week has been your good parking spot, it sounds like it can only get better! I hope the rest of your week goes smoothly and is enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

 
