These are a few of my favorite things…

Remember how I used to try to walk the 1 mile trek to work at least 4 days a week when I lived in EC, well now my new thing is biking/walking/anything but driving to work at least 4 days a week.  I don’t know about you, but I just hate to waste gas when the distance is such a petty distance (1.3 miles), especially when the weather is still pretty decent out.  Now, when the winter months hit it will be a different story, I will probably drive everyday.  Another reason I don’t care to drive is because it almost requires you to buy a parking pass (which is over $200), unless you want to walk 5-10 minutes to work/class everyday after you park your car.  I am going to try to be one of those who will refuse to purchase a parking pass… wish me luck!  Do you have a parking pass for school/work?  If so, what convinced you to get yours?

The RecSports Hullaballoo (aka work) was a lot of fun!   Our Hullaballoo was just a puzzle piece in the big picture of the event.  Other things that were featured at the welcome festival were local businesses, student clubs and associations, cotton candy and snow cone station and yard games.  Tons of prizes were given out to those who participated in each business/club’s game.  At our tent we handed out free t-shirts to those who went around and got a punch from each of our 16 club sport tables.   It was a hit!  We ran out of our t-shirts about 1 hour before the event was even over!  Wahoo RecSports!  Here is a look at a couple of the things I got…

RecSports PLAY t-shirt

Frisbees, cups and an orange 🙂

I love free little knick knacks!

Eats

For breakfast I had a nice bowl of hot oats, cooled down with yogurt, a great choice for a fall morning!  When I went shopping last week I stocked up on a ton of different delicious flavors of yogurt– red velvet cake, boston cream pie, raspberry, key lime pie!  Each one is only a 100 calories… wahoo!

I had a super late lunch today because of the Hullaballoo, however, while I was there I did get a little bit of a food event- cotton candy 🙂  I am not a HUGE fan, but I was starving so it tasted good.   When I finally got back to the office I had a sandwich thin with hummus, lettuce, ham and half a slice of provolone cheese.  I also had some snap peas and a banana. 

 

What I had for lunch was the perfect amount for today, because not too long after I ate I headed to the gym to play some basketball.  I haven’t played basketball in a long time, so I was winded beyond belief!  I played in four games to eleven in a little over an hour (short breaks between each game).  I can tell that tomorrow I will be sore, but it’s okay because I got to play basketball!!!  What is your absolute favorite way to workout? Mine is for sure playing basketball!

Following basketball I was wiped so all I wanted was carbs so that I would be fully energized for tomorrow.  So I made my favorite food ever… mac and cheese!  It is so simple and not the most nutritious thing, but I LOVE IT!  I like to sprinkle a little Tony’s creole seasoning on it to add a kick 🙂

That’s about all for today folks!  I am currently watching Matilda (one of my favorite books when I was a kid) and getting ready for my first day of grad school tomorrow!!!  Wish me luck!

~ by myFOODevents on September 6, 2010.

One Response to “These are a few of my favorite things…”

  1. Awww, Matilda!! I read that book to my class every year and I LOVE it. Hope you’re enjoying it!

    Also, I love to walk to work too…I can’t do it on Mondays/Fridays because I lug so much crap home over the weekend, but I try for 4 days a week, too. Oh, and during the winter time…I’m with you, I’ll drive.

Leave a Reply

 
